Basket of Flowers

Basket of Flowers

Basket of Flowers (1)

Song of the Flower XXIII by Khalil Gibran

I am a kind word uttered and repeated

By the voice of Nature; 

Basket of Flowers (2)

I am a star fallen from the

Blue tent upon the green carpet.

Basket of Flowers (3)

I am the daughter of the elements 

Basket of Flowers (4)

With whom Winter conceived; 

Basket of Flowers (5)

To whom Spring gave birth;

Basket of Flowers (6)

I was reared in the lap of Summer and I

Slept in the bed of Autumn. 

Basket of Flowers (7)

At dawn I unite with the breeze

To announce the coming of light; 

Basket of Flowers (8)

At eventide I join the birds

In bidding the light farewell. 

Basket of Flowers (9)

The plains are decorated with

My beautiful colors, and the air

Is scented with my fragrance. 

Basket of Flowers (10)

 

As I embrace Slumber the eyes of

Night watch over me, 

Basket of Flowers (12)

And as I Awaken I stare at the sun, which is

The only eye of the day. 

Basket of Flowers (13)

I drink dew for wine, and hearken to

The voices of the birds, and dance

To the rhythmic swaying of the grass. 

Basket of Flowers (14)

I am the lover’s gift; I am the wedding wreath;

Basket of Flowers (15)

I am the memory of a moment of happiness; 

Basket of Flowers (16)

I am the last gift of the living to the dead; 

Basket of Flowers (17)

I am a part of joy and a part of sorrow. 

Basket of Flowers (18)

But I look up high to see only the light,

Basket of Flowers (19)

And never look down to see my shadow. 

Basket of Flowers (20)

 

This is wisdom which man must learn.

Basket of Flowers (11)

The End.

Leave a Reply

