The Secret Language of Flowers (D)

The Secret Language of Flowers (D)

The List of Flowers and their meanings: 

  1. Daffodil.  Meaning: Refusal. “I do not return your affections.” (Personal note: Are you surprised as I am?)
  2.  Dahlia- Red. Meaning: Rebuff. “You have mistaken my Feelings. “
  3.   Dahlia- White.  Meaning: Dismissal.  “Do not approach me.”
  4. Dahlia- Yellow.  Meaning: Distaste. “Your attentions are distasteful.”
  5. Daisy- Michaelmas.  Meaning: Farewell. “Do not write or speak to me; I can never love you.”
  6.  Daisy-Moon.  Meaning: Autumn love. “Choose a lover of your own age; youth and middle-age may not mate.”
  7. Daisy- Ox-ye.  Meaning: Hope. “I might learn to love you.”
  8. Dandelion. Meaning: Absurdity. “Your pretentions are ridiculous.”
  9. Deadly Nightshade ( Atropa belladonna , or Atropa  bella-donna, commonly known as Belladona, Devil’s  Berries, Death  Berries, Death Cherries, or Deadly Nightshade.) Meaning: Deception. “I believe you to be false.”
  10.   Deadnettle, Red.  Meaning: Coolness. “You have offended me.”
  11. Deadnettle, white.  Meaning: Coolness. “I do not care for you.”
  12. Dog-rose. (It is a deciduous shrub normally ranging in height from 1–5 m, though sometimes it can scramble higher into the crowns of taller trees. Its stems are covered with small, sharp, hooked prickles, which aid it in climbing. The flowers are usually pale pink, but can vary between a deep pink and white. ) Meaning: Maidenly beauty. “You are as fair and as innocent as this flower.”
  13. Dog-violet.  (Dog violets are the common name for various species of the plant genus Viola with unscented flowers.) Meaning: Lad’s love. “You are my first sweetheart.”
Leave a Reply

